Africa · South Africa

So much driving!

I left Jo’burg on Good Friday for my first leg of the Baz Bus, the backpackers hop-on-hop-off bus in South Africa. Pickup was at 8am and I was to spend the next 8 hours driving down to Durban. The bus was pretty empty which was a blessing seeing as I was to be on here for a long time. The only blessing was that the scenery was amazing, especially around the mountains where I got serious envy when a couple of people jumped off the bus.

It seems as though we bought the rain with us because for the last few hours to Durban it did nothing but pour with rain. When we finally made it I found my hostel for the night was actually a room in a guest house/home stay run by a British couple. The first thing she did was make me a cup of tea! The house was really cute and Pat &a Keith were amazing hosts, even taking me to get take away curry for tea. Plus they had 3 dogs which is always a winner!

The next day was an early pick up and another long drive down the Wild Coast to Chintsa. This time it was a 10 hour journey and about 8 hours in I said bye to Paige as she headed off to a different location and I made some new friends for the last leg off the bus, who definitely made the 2.5 hour journey more enjoyable. Finally made it to the beach and my home for the next 3 days and the view definitely made the extremely long bus journey worth it.

Leave a Reply

